UFC 236: Two Thrilling Title Fights Heat Up Atlanta

The fans of MMA in Atlanta were treated to a pair of “Fight of the Year” main events Saturday night, as Dustin Poirier and Israel Adesanya earned interim titles at UFC 236.

Poirier bested featherweight champion Max Holloway via decision to win the lightweight title, with Adesanya doing the same to Kelvin Gastelum for the middleweight belt.

The pay-per-view was the first to be offered solely via ESPN+ streaming by the UFC.

Complete results can be found below:

Dustin Poirier def. Max Holloway via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) to become interim UFC lightweight champion

Israel Adesanya def. Kelvin Gastelum via unanimous decision (48-46, 48-46, 48-46) to become interim UFC middleweight champion

Khalil Rountree Jr. def. Eryk Anders via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Dwight Grant def. Alan Jouban via split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)

Nikita Krylov def. Ovince Saint Preux via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:30 of Round 2

Matt Frevola def. Jalin Turner via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Alexandre Pantoja def. Wilson Reis via TKO (strikes) at 2:58 of Round 1

Max Griffin def. Zelim Imadaev via majority decision (29-27, 29-27, 28-28)

Khalid Taha def. Boston Salmon via TKO (strikes) at :25 of Round 1

Belal Muhammad def. Curtis Millender via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 30-26)

Montel Jackson def. Andre Soukhamthath via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 29-27)

Poliana Potelho def. Lauren Mueller via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Brandon Davis def. Randy Costa via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:12 of Round 2

Latest articles

Related articles