UFC 225 Results: Robert Whittaker Tops Yoel Romero, Colby Covington Becomes Champion

UFC 225 went down Saturday night from the United Center in Chicago, as Robert Whittaker bested Yoel Romero in a non-title fight main event.

Whittaker, the middleweight champion, was guaranteed to leave with the belt win, lose or draw after Romero missed weight. The fight went on anyway after all sides agreed, with Whittaker taking a split decision and improving to 2-0 vs. the former Olympian.

In the co-main event, Colby Covington topped Rafael dos Anjos to claim the interim welterweight title, setting himself of in a championship unification match with Tyron Woodley later this year.

Holly Holm bested Megan Anderson via decision, Tai Tuivasa topped Andrei Arlovski and Mike Jackson dominated CM Punk.

On the prelims, Curtis Blaydes defeated Alistair Overeem via third round TKO, Claudia Gadelha slipped past Carla Esparza, Mirsad Bektic earned a split decision vs. Ricardo Lamas and Chris de la Rocha finished Rashad Coulter.

Anthony Smith, Sergio Pettis, Charles Oliveira and Dan Ige were all winners on UFC Fight Pass.

Complete results are below:

  • Robert Whittaker def. Yoel Romero via split decision (48-47, 48-47, 47-48)
  • Colby Covington def. Rafael dos Anjos via unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47, 48-47) to become the interim UFC welterweight champion
  • Holly Holm def. Megan Anderson via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-26)
  • Tai Tuivasa def. Andrei Arlovski via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Mike Jackson def. CM Punk via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
  • Curtis Blaydes def. Alistair Overeem via TKO (elbows) at 2:56 of Round 3
  • Claudia Gadelha def. Carla Esparza via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • Mirsad Bektic def. Ricardo Lamas via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)
  • Chris de la Rocha def. Rashad Coulter via TKO (strikes) at 3:53 of Round 2
  • Anthony Smith def. Rashad Evans via KO (knee) at :53 of Round 1
  • Sergio Pettis def. Joseph Benavidez via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
  • Charles Oliveira def. Clay Guida via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:18 of Round 1
  • Dan Ige def. Mike Santiago via TKO (strikes) at :50 of Round 1

Latest articles

Related articles