MMA Weekend Roundup: ONE, LFA, Bellator Results

It was a hectic and busy weekend on the MMA front recently as ONE Championship, Legacy Fighting Alliance and Bellator MMA all held cards within a three-day period around UFC on ESPN 2.

The events aired on television and online from various parts of the country and world.

Much of the top headlines came out of ONE as the promotion held “A New Era” in Tokyo with the promotional debuts of former UFC champions Demetrious Johnson and Eddie Alvarez.

Johnson was successful, advancing to the semifinals of the ONE Flyweight Grand Prix with a submission win, but Alvarez suffered a loss in his ONE Lightweight Grand Prix contest via knockout.

Four belts were up for grabs during the night, with Shinya Aoki scoring a main event victory to become lightweight champion once more.

Here are complete ONE: A New Era results:

ONE Lightweight World Championship bout: Shinya Aoki defeats Eduard Folayang by Submission (Arm Triangle Choke) at 2:34 minutes of round 1
ONE Women’s Strawweight World Championship bout: Xiong Jing Nan defeats Angela Lee by TKO (Strikes) at 1:37 minutes of round 5
ONE Middleweight World Championship bout: Aung La N Sang defeats Ken Hasegawa by TKO (Strikes) at 4:41 minutes of round 2
ONE Bantamweight World Championship bout: Bibiano Fernandes defeats Kevin Belingon by Disqualification (DQ)
ONE Flyweight World Grand Prix Quarter-final bout: Demetrious Johnson defeats Yuya Wakamatsu by Submission (Guillotine Choke) at 2:40 minutes of round 2
ONE Lightweight World Grand Prix Quarter-final bout: Timofey Nastyukhin defeats Eddie Alvarez by TKO (Strikes) at 4:05 minutes of round 1
ONE Super Series Kickboxing Catch Weight bout (72.0kg): Yodsanklai IWE Fairtex defeats Andy Souwer by Knockout (KO) at 0:51 minutes of round 2
ONE Flyweight World Grand Prix Quarter-final bout: Danny Kingad defeats Senzo Ikeda by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
ONE Flyweight World Grand Prix Quarter-final bout: Kairat Akhmetov defeats Reece McLaren by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
ONE Super Series Flyweight Muay Thai bout: Rodtang Jitmuangnon defeats Hakim Hamech by Split Decision (SD) after 3 rounds
ONE Super Series Flyweight Kickboxing bout: Joseph Lasiri defeats Hiroki Akimoto by Majority Decision (MD) after 3 rounds
Women’s Atomweight bout: Mei Yamaguchi defeats Kseniya Lachkova by Submission (Armbar) at 3:18 minutes of round 3
Featherweight bout: Garry Tonon defeats Anthony Engelen by TKO (Strikes) at 4:12 minutes of round 1
ONE Super Series Bantamweight Muay Thai bout: Panicos Yusuf defeats Mohammed Bin Mahmoud by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
Lightweight bout: Yoon Chang Min defeats Bala Shetty by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 4:16 minutes of round 1

At LFA 63, it was former champion Derrick Krantz earning the keynote victory, as he finished his opponent with UFC president Dana White in attendance.

Here are results from LFA 63, which aired on AXS TV:

Main Event – Welterweight Fight – Derrick Krantz (24-10) knocked out Justin Patterson (11-5) at 2:27 in round one.

Co-Main Event – Featherweight Fight – Gabriel Silva (7-0) knocked out Jake Heffernan (7-1) at 1:23 in round one.

Flyweight Fight – Hailey Cowan (3-1) submitted Sarah Click (2-3) with a rear naked choke to win by technical submission at 1:29 in round two.

Featherweight Fight – Rafael Barbosa (11-1) defeated Cameron Graves (7-3) via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28).

Bantamweight Fight – Armando Villarreal (5-1) knocked out Devin Miller (5-2) with strikes at 0:16 in round three.

Middleweight Fight – Kailan Hill (4-0, 1 NC) defeated Jhonoven Pati (4-3) via unanimous Decision (30-27, 29-27, 30-27).

And finally Bellator MMA saw Brandon Girtz best Saad Awad live on both Paramount Network and DAZN at Bellator 219.

The card also featured wins by former champions Daniel Straus and Andrey Koreshkov.

Below are complete results from Bellator 219:

Brandon Girtz (16-8) defeated Saad Awad (23-11) via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Daniel Straus (25-8, 1 NC) defeated Shane Kruchten (12-5) via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:53 of round one

Andrey Koreshkov (22-3) defeated Mike Jasper (13-5) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Joe Schilling (4-5) defeated Keith Berry (15-15-1, 1 NC) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Joey Davis (5-0) defeated Marcus Anthony (1-1) via KO (punch) at 4:21 of round one

Dalton Rosta (1-0) defeated Cody Vidal (1-2) via TKO (injury) at 1:06 of round one

Shawn Bunch (9-3) defeated Dominic Mazzotta (14-3) via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)

David Rickels (21-5, 2 NC) defeated A.J. Matthews (9-9) via TKO at 3:24 of round two

Janay Harding (5-3) defeated Marina Mokhnatkina (4-2) via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 29-28)

Darren Smith Jr. (16-10) defeated Joshua Jones (8-4) via knockout (punches) at :34 of round one

John Mercurio (9-8) defeated Johnny Cisneros (12-7) via majority decision (28-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Rickey Furar (4-1) deteated Roman Puga (1-1) via TKO (doctor stoppage) at 5:00 of round two

Sunni Imhotep (1-0) defeated Eugene Correa (0-2) via KO (punch) at :44 of round one

Latest articles

Related articles