Israel Adesanya Steals Action-Packed MMA Weekend At UFC 243

Bellator MMA and Invicta FC had the spotlight to share Friday night, but Saturday’s belonged all to Israel Adesanya.

Adesanya remained unbeaten and became the undisputed UFC middleweight champion by finishing off Robert Whittaker at UFC 243 in Australia.

The win was the biggest victory to date for the fighter, as he left those cheering on Whittaker from inside the Marvel Stadium in Melbourne unhappy.

On Friday at Bellator 229, Lorenz Larkin earned a main event victory over former champion Andrey Koreshkov, while Pearl Gonzalez picked up a win in the main event of Invicta FC 37.

UFC 243 Results

Israel Adesanya def. Robert Whittaker via KO (strike) at 3:33 of Round 2 to become undisputed UFC middleweight champion

Dan Hooker def. Al Iaquinta via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Sergey Spivak def. Tai Tuivasa via technical submission (arm-triangle choke) at 3:14 of Round 2

Dhiego Lima def. Luke Jumeau via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Yorgan de Castro def. Justin Tafa via KO (strikes) at 2:10 of Round 1

Jake Matthews def. Rostem Akman via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Callan Potter def. Maki Pitolo via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Brad Riddell def. Jamie Mullarkey via unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26, 30-26)

Megan Anderson def. Zarah Fairn dos Santos via submission (triangle choke) at 3:57 of Round 1

Ji Yeon Kim def. Nadia Kassem via TKO (strikes) at 4:59 of Round 2

Khalid Taha def. Bruno Gustavo Aparecido da Silva via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 3:00 of Round 3

Bellator 229 Results

Lorenz Larkin (21-7, 1 NC) defeated Andrey Koreshkov (22-4) via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Goiti Yamauchi (24-4) defeated Saad Awad (23-12) via submission (armbar) at 1:40 of round one

Keri Taylor Melendez (4-0) defeated Mandy Polk (6-4) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Tony Johnson (8-2) defeated Joe Schilling (4-6) via KO (punches) at 2:07 of round three

Salim Mukhidinov (7-3) defeated Adel Altamimi (8-6) via unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26, 30-27)

Anatoly Tokov (29-2) defeated Hracho Darpinyan (17-9-2) via TKO at 4:38 of round two

Derek Anderson (16-3, 1 NC) defeated Guilherme “Bomba” (10-6) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Joey Davis (6-0) defeated Jeff Peterson (10-8) via KO (flying knee) at 1:00 of round one

Johnny Eblen (6-0) defeated Mauricio Alonso (13-8, 1 NC) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Vladimir Tokov (5-0) defeated Brandon Hastings (6-4) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Jordan Newman (2-0) defeated Riley Miller (0-1) via TKO at 4:28 of round one

Kelvin Gentapanan (1-0) defeated Sunni Imhotep (2-0) via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Jay-Jay Wilson (4-0) defeated Jorge Juarez (4-2) via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:33 of round one

Invicta FC 37 Results

Pearl Gonzalez def. Brogan Sanchez by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Mariya Agapova def. Marilia Santos by TKO (strikes) at 4:55 of Round 1

Kay Hansen def. Nicolle Caliari by submission (guillotine choke) at 1:14 of Round 3

Lindsey VanZandt def. Shino VanHoose by TKO (knee injury) at :39 of Round 1

Linda Mihalec def. Marisa Messer-Belenchia by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Hope Chase def. Megan Cawley by submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:28 of Round 1

Claire Johnson def. Jordan Kaaze by submission (armbar) at 2:20 of Round 3

Latest articles

Related articles