Home Blog Page 3

‘Lionheart’ Anthony Smith Does It Again, Earns Submission Win


Anthony Smith said it best after UFC Vegas 15.

Line them up, and I’ll keep knocking them down.

Smith stepped into the main event role Saturday night, earning a submission victory in the first round over Devin Clark. The bout aired live on ESPN from the UFC Apex in Las Vegas.

After Curtis Blaydes tested positive for COVID-19, his planned main event with Derrick Lewis was scratched. UFC officials elevated Smith-Clark from the co-main to the new headliner.

And Smith delivered.

The former UFC light heavyweight title contender had no trouble with Clark, scoring the quick submission win.

Complete results are below:

Anthony Smith def. Devin Clark via submission (triangle choke) at 2:34 of Round 1

Miguel Baeza def. Takashi Sato via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 4:28 of Round 2

Parker Porter def. Josh Parisian via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 29-28)

Bill Algeo def. Spike Carlyle via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Norma Dumont Viana def. Ashlee Evans-Smith via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Jonathan Pearce def. Kai Kamaka III via TKO (strikes) at 4:28 of Round 2

Anderson dos Santos def. Martin Day via submission (guillotine choke) at 4:35 of Round 1

Gina Mazany def. Rachael Ostovich via TKO (strikes) at 4:10 of Round 3

Su Mudaerji def. Malcolm Gordon via KO (strike) at :44 of Round 1

Nathan Maness def. Luke Sanders via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:29 of Round 2

MMA Futures Favorite Anthony Smith back In Octagon Saturday


Anthony Smith returns to action this Saturday night, taking on Devin Clark at UFC Fight Night: Blaydes vs. Lewis.

Smith vs. Clark serves as the co-main event from the UFC Apex in Las Vegas. The card airs live on ESPN2 and ESPN+ beginning at 10 p.m. ET with the main card and 7 p.m. ET on ESPN+ with prelims.

Former light heavyweight title challenger Smith (33-16, fighting out of Omaha, Neb.) proves that he will compete against anyone, anywhere, at any time by stepping in on short notice against rising prospect Clark. A longtime middleweight standout with 30 of his 33 wins coming by finish, Smith quickly rose up the light heavyweight ranks with defining stoppages over Rashad Evans, Mauricio Rua and Volkan Oezdemir. He now seeks to secure his first victory of 2020 with a vintage performance.

Clark (12-4, fighting out of Sioux Falls, S.D.) looks to make 2020 his most successful year to date by clinching his third victory against the toughest opponent of his career. A product of the first season of Dana White: Looking for a Fight, Clark has found his footing in the UFC with back-to-back wins over Dequan Townsend and Alonzo Menifield. Clark now has his sights set on earning his first promotional finish against Smith and breaking into the rankings.

UFC 255 Sees Pair Of Successful Title Defenses At Flyweight


Both reigning UFC flyweight champions Deiveson Figueiredo and Valentina Shevchenko defended their titles in the headline bouts of UFC 255 Saturday night.

Figueiredo submitted Alex Perez in the first round while Shevchenko turned back the challenge of Jennifer Maia with a five-round decision.

The card also featured a win by Tim Means and a victory for Shevchenko’s sister, Antonina.

Complete results are below:

Deiveson Figueiredo def. Alex Perez via submission (guillotine choke) at 1:57 of Round 1 to remain UFC flyweight champion

Valentina Shevchenko def. Jennifer Maia via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) to remain UFC female flyweight champion

Tim Means def. Mike Perry via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Katlyn Chookagian def. Cynthia Calvillo via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Paul Craig def. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua via TKO (strikes) at 3:36 of Round 2

Brandon Moreno def. Brandon Royval via TKO (strikes) at 4:59 of Round 1

Joaquin Buckley def. Jordan Wright via KO (strike) at :18 of Round 2

Antonina Shevchenko def. Ariane Lipski via TKO (strikes) at 4:33 of Round 2

Nicolas Dalby def. Daniel Rodriguez via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Alan Jouban def. Jared Gooden via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Kyle Daukaus def. Dustin Stoltzfus via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Sasha Palatnikov def. Louis Cosce via TKO (strikes) at 2:27 of Round 3

Raufeon Stots With Another Bellator Victory


Raufeon Stots improved to 15-1 with a decision victory to begin the Bellator 253 main card Thursday night.

Stots bested Keith Lee via decision, sweeping all three scorecards and all three rounds of action.

The bout opened the CBS Sports Network main card that also featured AJ McKee earning a first round submission vs. Darrion Caldwell.

Complete results are below:

A.J. McKee (17-0) defeated Darrion Caldwell (15-4) via submission (neck crank) at 1:11 of round one

Jason Jackson (13-4) defeated Benson Henderson (28-10) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Joey Davis (8-0) defeated Bobby Lee (12-5) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Raufeon Stots (15-1) defeated Keith Lee (7-4) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Preliminary Card: 

Jeremy Kennedy (16-2, 1 NC) defeated Matt Bessette (24-10, 1 NC) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Jaleel Willis (14-2) defeated Mark Lemminger (11-3) via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Jay-Jay Wilson (7-0) defeated Sergio de Bari (5-2) via KO (punch) at :20 of round one

Kaheem Murray (4-3) defeated Baby Slice (3-3, 1 NC) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Sullivan Cauley (1-0) defeated Jason Markland (0-2) via TKO (punches) at :28 of round one

UFC Vegas Results: RDA Gets best of Paul Felder


Former UFC champion Rafael dos Anjos earned a hard-fought five-round decision over Paul Felder Saturday night at UFC Vegas 14.

Felder, stepping on on short notice for the bout, pushed dos Anjos until the final bell sounded.

The card also saw Khaos Williams knock Abdul Razak Alhassan out in just 30 seconds along with Sean Strickland deliver a thunderous finish vs. Brendan Allen.

Rafael dos Anjos def. Paul Felder via split decision (47-48, 50-45, 50-45)

Khaos Williams def. Abdul Razak Alhassan via KO (strikes) at :30 of Round 1

Ashley Yoder def. Miranda Granger via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-27, 27-26)

Sean Strickland def. Brendan Allen via TKO (strikes) at 1:32 of Round 2

Cory McKenna def. Kay Hansen via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Kanako Murata def. Randa Markos via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Tony Gravely def. Geraldo de Freitas via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

Alex Morono def. Rhys McKee via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Don’Tale Mayes def. Roque Martinez via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

.resp-container { position: relative; overflow: hidden; padding-top: 56.25%; } .resp-iframe { position: absolute; top: 0; left: 0; width: 100%; height: 100%; border: 0; }
Skip to toolbar